Photo of Cross, Karen Halverson

Karen Halverson Cross

Professor of Law


Building & Room:



300 S. State Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604

Office Phone:

(312) 360-2652

Related Sites:


As a law student, Karen served as editor of the Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review. After law school, she conducted research as a Fulbright scholar in former Yugoslavia and worked as an associate with Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton in New York. Since joining the John Marshall faculty, Professor Cross has taught at the Catholic University of Portugal in Lisbon, the University of San Diego's summer program in Moscow, the Central European University in Budapest, and the MBA program for Executives and International Managers at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Her teaching and scholarship focuses on contract law, international economic law, arbitration, and higher education law and policy. She is a contributor to Kluwer Arbitration Blog and ASIL Insights, and her scholarship has appeared in the Journal of Collective Bargaining in the Academy (refereed), Journal of International Economic Law (refereed), Ohio State Law Journal, and Michigan Journal of International Law, among other publications. Professor Cross was awarded a Fulbright Distinguished Chair to Portugal in 2008 and has since served on many peer review committees for the Fulbright program. During 2018-19, Karen served as Associate Dean for Administration at John Marshall, developing law school policies and assisting with the law school’s acquisition by UIC. She serves on UIC's Faculty Senate and the Senate's Committee on Educational Policy. Karen returned to John Marshall in 2018 after taking leave to work in central administration on Northwestern University’s Evanston campus. She teaches contracts, education law and policy, and arbitration-related courses. Karen received an M.S. in Higher Education Administration and Policy from Northwestern University; a J.D., cum laude, from Harvard Law School; and a B.A., with distinction, from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.